Treating others the way you would like to be treated…even on social media.

3 Nov

I recently attended a seminar and it was on how to make the most out of your social media pages.  I learned a good tip…

  • If you have problems with people spelling your last name wrong put that in your summary so that way when people Google your information it will pull—even if your name is misspelled.

However, I also found that my “old” fashioned beliefs were not in agreement to the presenter.  In fact, I actually was surprised by the response I received when I suggested treating others the way you would want to be treated.  The speaker stated that it “takes too much time.”

So, I have decided to blog about it because I disagree and wondered your thoughts?  If someone asks you to be friends and you don’t know them—what do you do?  Ignore?  Well, my advice would be to email and ask how you know one another.  Sometimes, it is obvious that they are spammers (and ignoring is fine) but for the most part I often realize I may have forgotten who they are and how I might be connected to them.

I recently had a LinkedIn contact email me and write a nice note stating my name was familiar but he just couldn’t figure out how we knew each other.  I responded letting him know that we worked together with one of my clients and he immediately accepted my request.  I guess my Grandma Grace and Mom would be proud because I truly think it is worth the time to email back and ask the question “how do we know one another”?  It is just like not returning a sales person phone call.  I try to get back to folks even to say we are not interested at the time, because I figure that if I treat others the way I want to be treated we all might work to build a more respectful and kind world.

I look forward to hearing your comments on what you do and how you think it is best to handle those requests!  Maybe we could start a new movement in Social Media?

 

Barb Burgie

Burgie MediaFusion

Leave a Reply

